Better Newspaper Contest

2013 Award Winners

Hoosier State Press Association - The Indiana Publisher - Better Newspaper Contest

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 9 of 67

General Excellence The General Excellence Award is given to one paper in each of the six circulation divisions based on a point system. Winners in this category should exemplify excellence in all aspects of newspaper publication, including mechanical excellence, editorial content, layout and general appearance. Points will be awarded as follows: • Writing and Photography Categories – 5 points for first, 3 points for second, 1 point for third. • Section & Web site Awards – 10 points for first, 6 points for second, 2 points for third. • Community Service and Newspaper Design Categories – 10 points for first, 6 points for second, 2 points for third. This category will not be judged, but is an accumulation of points earned in the other categories. General Excellence Division 1 First place The Times-Post (Pendleton) Second place Hendricks County Flyer (Avon) Third place Ferdinand News Division 2 First place Brown County Democrat (Nashville) Second place The Corydon Democrat Third place The Mooresville/Decatur Times Division 3 First place The Tribune (Seymour) Second place The Commercial Review (Portland) Third place The News-Banner (Bluffton) Division 4 First place Daily Journal (Franklin) Second place The News-Sun (Kendallville) Third place Daily Reporter (Greenfield) Division 5 First place The Star Press (Muncie) Second place Journal & Courier (Lafayette) Third place (tie) The Herald-Times (Bloomington) The Republic (Columbus) Division 6 First place The Indianapolis Star Second place The Journal Gazette (Fort Wayne) Third place South Bend Tribune Page 10

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Better Newspaper Contest - 2013 Award Winners