Better Newspaper Contest

2013 Award Winners

Hoosier State Press Association - The Indiana Publisher - Better Newspaper Contest

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 20 of 67

Division 1 Best Business Section or Pages/ Category 27 First place BUSINESS Bryan Helvie, Debbie Blank & Diane Raver The Herald-Tribune (Batesville) Comments: Strong stories that were very business-focused and informative. The design needs a little work, but the best entry in the category. Second place Business Kyle Lewis & Amanda Matlock The Times-Post (Pendleton) Comments: Good layout. Liked the weekly focus story. Third place No award given Best Special Section/Category 28 First place Top 50 Hendricks County High School Athletes 1965-2010 Jake Thompson & Justin Whitaker Hendricks County Flyer (Avon) Comments: None given. Second place Salute Area Firefighters Staff Ferdinand News Comments: None given. Third place Fall Home 2012 Kyle Lewis The Times-Post (Pendleton) Comments: None given. Best Community Service/Category 29 First place Lincoln Boyhood National Memorial Golden Anniversary Edition Dean Bolin & Kathy Tretter Spencer County Leader (Dale) Comments: Not only did the Leader recognize the importance of commemorating the 50th anniversary of their community's national memorial, they provided a comprehensive historical account of how the memorial evolved into being and continued the preservation of the oral history through print. Second place Shop Talk: Business Series Amanda Matlock The Times-Post (Pendleton) Comments: Amanda's series was attractive, not only graphically, but editorially and I'm sure proved to bolster the community pride by spotlighting a positive trend in local business' growth. Third place No award given Best Newspaper Design/Category 30 First place Kyle Lewis The Times-Post (Pendleton) Comments: Heads and shoulders above the competition. The designer of this publication obviously pays attention to detail. Lot of elegant design items that are well-executed. Loved the skyboxes. The Opportunity Knocks and the baseball preview centerpieces were top-notch. Second place Staff Spencer County Leader (Dale) Comments: Use of photography carries this newspaper. Third place Staff Hendricks County Flyer (Avon) Comments: Typography was really nice. Page 21

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Better Newspaper Contest - 2013 Award Winners