Better Newspaper Contest

2014 Award Winners

Hoosier State Press Association - The Indiana Publisher - Better Newspaper Contest

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 9 of 67

Page 10 The General Excellence Award is given to one paper in each of the six circulation divisions based on a point sys- tem. Winners in this category should exemplify excellence in all aspects of newspaper publication, including me- chanical excellence, editorial content, layout and general appearance. Points will be awarded as follows: • Writing and Photography Categories – 5 points for first, 3 points for second, 1 point for third. • Section & Web site Awards – 10 points for first, 6 points for second, 2 points for third. • Community Service and Newspaper Design Categories – 10 points for first, 6 points for second, 2 points for third. This category will not be judged but is an accumulation of points earned in the other categories. Division 1 First place The Times-Post (Pendleton) Second place Hendricks County Flyer (Avon) Third place The Mooresville/Decatur Times Division 2 First place Brown County Democrat (Nashville) Second place The Corydon Democrat Third place The Press-Dispatch (Petersburg) Division 3 First place The Commercial Review (Portland) Second place The Tribune (Seymour) Third place Herald-Republican (Angola) Division 4 First place The News & Tribune (Jeffersonville) Second place Daily Journal (Franklin) Third place The Herald (Jasper) Division 5 First place The Republic (Columbus) Second place The Herald-Times (Bloomington) Third place Journal & Courier (Lafayette) Division 6 First place The Indianapolis Star Second place The Journal Gazette (Fort Wayne) Third place The Times (Munster) General Excellence

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Better Newspaper Contest - 2014 Award Winners